• Home
  • Review/Post Requests
  • The Blog
  • All Reviews
  • More...
  • Facebook Goodreads Instagram Twitter Pinterest Tumblr

ARC Review of Rescuing Macie by Susan Stoker

After years of estrangement, Mercedes Laughlin has finally reconciled with her older brother. It should be the happiest time of her life, getting to know Truck and his new wife…and it would be, if an ex wasn’t causing her trouble. Add in Truck’s boss, Colonel Colton Robinson, an amazingly distracting man whom she met under embarrassing circumstances, and Macie’s got a bit more on her plate than she can handle.

From the moment they met, Colt was fascinated by Macie, and helping her through an anxiety attack at her brother’s wedding didn’t diminish the appeal. He’d do his best to sweep her off her feet, if not for a little voice telling him to tread lightly—until a frantic phone call changes the plan. Macie’s being targeted, and Colt’s determined to keep her safe while he and her brother eliminate the threat.

Colt isn’t about to let his friend lose his sister again so soon…or miss his own chance at a happy ending with Macie before they’ve barely had a beginning.

** For fans of Susan’s Delta Force Heroes, Rescuing Macie is book eleven in that series**

**Every 1001 Dark Nights novella is a standalone story. For new readers, it’s an introduction to an author’s world. And for fans, it’s a bonus book in the author’s series. We hope you'll enjoy each one as much as we do.**

Goodreads | Amazon


Release: April 23, 2019
Genre: Contemporary Romance - military
Dual POV - 3rd person
Heat: slightly descriptive - 3 out of 5
Standalone - Delta Force Heroes #9.5
Length: 137 pages
Format: eARC provided by Inkslinger PR
Publisher: Evil Eye Concepts, Incorporated

Review

★★★✩✩

This story was go go go, right from the start. Mercedes has had to climb out of her bedroom window, jump into a tree, climb down said tree, hide in a parking lot and then eventually a bush, all to escape some strangers who have broken into her apartment. They want something from her, something she doesn't know she has. Luckily her brother is part of an elite military group and he and his commander rescue her from her tight spot. She and Colt shared a connection, but his indecision and her anxiety led to miscommunication. Although she's in trouble now, she couldn't be safer than in his arms.

The thing I love most about the 1001 Dark Nights series of books is that I get to discover a new-to-me author and figure out if I want more or not. I get a little taste, just a wee sample, and it lets me know about their writing style, introduces me to some of their characters, and I get a sense of what I can expect in the future. With several of Susan Stoker's books waiting to be read on my kindle, I was happy to get this chance. Now I know I'm going to have a blast reading her other books! My only issue with this story was the fact that Mercedes suffered from anxiety and I didn't like how it was portrayed. The author did leave a note to the reader that she wasn't an expert on the disorder, so I guess I can understand why it wasn't captured well. As someone who suffers from anxiety, it was hard to follow what this character was going through. I think the story would have been strong even if she didn't have to deal with it. I would have preferred it that way. However, apart from that, I enjoyed the love that developed between the characters and how charming they were as individuals and how in tune they were together. If Colt is anything like this author's other heroes, I'm in for a sweet treat!

No comments:

Post a Comment