October 20, 2019


War brought them together. Love will tear them apart.

Find your copy of Falling Kingdoms here:
Goodreads | Amazon CA | Amazon US | B & N | Kobo | Book Depository

To err is human
4 "I'm down with whatever Magnus has to offer" stars!! As a buddy read, I found it nearly impossible to put this book down after reading the agreed upon chapters. I didn't want to stop. And when I got to the end, I wanted to dive into the next book as soon as possible. You know it's a great read when you can't stop thinking about it and I can't wait to dive back into the hearts and minds of the people of this story.

The land of Mytica is divided into three kingdoms:
1. Auranos was the richest of all the lands, full of greenery and a seemingly endless supply of natural resources. It was ruled by King Corvin Bellos, who was looked upon as a kind and fair ruler. He had two daughters, Emilia and Cleo, the former being serene and ladylike and everything a future queen should be while the latter was a tad rebellious, rash and reckless. Auranos was the land of the plenty and coveted by the other rulers of Mytica, who wished to share in the abundance of wealth and this desire was what drove the plot of this story.
2. Limeros was a cold, dark place, with less natural resources, but still a land of excess. It was ruled by King Gaius Damora, who was both loved and feared, and lived up to his name of The King of Blood. This ruler lived to rule the world and was willing to use whatever means necessary to accomplish his goals. His love for his family and his loyalty are constantly in question, but his motives couldn't be more clear. He's lethal, calculating, and ruthless. He has two children: Magnus, his heir apparent, and Lucia, believed to be the first goddess reborn. It's with Lucia that he believes he can conquer the other kingdoms, becoming ruler of all. She alone can hold all four elementia and her powers are what will either unite or destroy Mytica.
3. And then there's Paelsia, an almost barren wasteland, inhabited by what most assume are savages. Swindled out of their remaining resources, Paelsians grow grapes and make wine to sell to Auranos, toiling and suffering and dying. They're smackdab in the middle of riches, wasting away to nothing. They have the most to gain from an alliance. The most notable Paelsian is Jonas, a boy bent on revenge that soon turns into a rebellion.

Between the incredible world building and the intensity of the scenes for each of these characters, I was swept away by this magical tale. I felt the suffering of the Paelsian people, the hope and desperation that dogged their steps, I sensed the utter despair that each of the protagonists felt. And I was rooting for these people with everything I had, even when the author made it clear that no one is safe!


In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed... and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that's certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It's the eve of war.... Choose your side.

Princess: Raised in pampered luxury, Cleo must now embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of magic long thought extinct.

Rebel: Jonas, enraged at injustice, lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished. To his shock, he finds himself the leader of a people's revolution centuries in the making.

Sorceress: Lucia, adopted at birth into the royal family, discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Heir: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, firstborn son Magnus begins to realise that the heart can be more lethal than the sword....

Princess Cleo of Mytica confronts violence for the first time in her life when a shocking murder sets her kingdom on a path to collapse. Once a privileged royal, Cleo must now summon the strength to survive in this new world and fight for her rightful place as Queen.

The King of Limeros’s son, Magnus, must plan each footstep with shrewd, sharp guile if he is to earn his powerful father’s trust, while his sister, Lucia, discovers a terrifying secret about her heritage that will change everything.

Rebellious Jonas lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished—and finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Witches, if found, are put to death, and Watchers, immortal beings who take the shape of hawks to visit the human world, have been almost entirely forgotten. A vicious power struggle quickly escalates to war, and these four young people collide against each other and the rise of elementia, the magic that can topple kingdoms and crown a ruler in the same day.

About Morgan Rhodes
Morgan Rhodes, aka Michelle Rowen, lives in Ontario, Canada. As a child, she always wanted to be a princess -- the kind that knows how to wield a sharp sword to help save both kingdoms and princes from fire-breathing dragons and dark wizards. Instead, she became a writer, which is just as good and much less dangerous. Along with writing, Morgan enjoys photography, travel, reality TV, and is an extremely picky, yet voracious reader of all kinds of books. Under another pen name, she’s a national bestselling author of many paranormal novels. Falling Kingdoms is her first high fantasy.

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment because I absolutely love getting and giving them!